Acrobat Reader Download
Board of Trustees
 Brad Koskelin Superintendent 
Odom Board Pic
Tijerina Board Pic
Grimes Board Pic
Brad Koskelin
Kenneth Odom
Erik Tijerina
Todd Grimes
Schiff Board Pic
Johnson Board Pic
Kinnard Board Pic
Zmolik Board Pic
Steven Schiff
Board Member
Tyson Johnson
Board Member
Dr. Darrell Kinnard
Board Member
Jeremy Zmolik
Board Member
  • The Board of Trustees consists of seven Board members elected to serve, without compensation, for overlapping terms of three years each. Elections are conducted annually in May. While candidates run for specific places, they do not represent specific geographical areas; rather, each represents MISD at large. Following the annual election, the Board elects a president, vice-president and secretary to serve for one-year terms.


  • Operating within the legal parameters of the state and federal constitutions, statutes, courts, and administrative agencies, the Board is charged with the responsibility of providing the finest educational program possible for the students in the district. School trustees make all final decisions regarding school district priorities, policies, personnel, textbooks, expenditures, and growth management. Trustees adopt a budget which is necessary to maintain and operate the schools, levy taxes to support the budget, and submit bond issues to the citizens of the district to finance construction projects.

  • The Superintendent of Schools is appointed by the School Board as the chief administrator and executive officer. With the assistance of his staff, the Superintendent directs, guides and coordinates the total educational and administrative program in accordance with Board policies and the rules and regulations of the Texas Education Agency. He attends all Board meetings and brings recommendations to the Board for action in carrying out the business of the school district.

  • Regular board meetings are held the fourth Monday of each month, closed meeting 6:30 p.m. and open meeting 7:30 p.m., in the MISD Board Room, 310 East Market St., Mabank. The agenda and location are posted 72 hours prior to the meeting and the agenda is available at the location at the time of the meeting. Items for regular board agenda are required to be placed on the agenda by noon at least five working days prior to the date of the meeting.

    All regular board meetings are public meetings; however, a public meeting is not an open forum. Public participation is limited to the section called public comment so the Board may deliberate important decisions without distraction or interference.

    For more information regarding meetings of the Board of Trustees, call the MISD Administration Building 903-880-1302.

*Notice of Mabank ISD School Board Election*


School Board Election Results
Kaufman County Results - Click Here
Henderson County Results - Click Here
Van Zandt County Results - Click Here

Click here to see Amended Order of Election

Suspension of May 2, 2020 Election to November 3, 2020 – Click here for more information.

Notice of Candidate Filing Deadline Letter

Notice of Voting Order Priority

2020 School Board Trustee Election Calendar
Jan. 1, 2020 – First Day to apply by mail for a ballot
Jan. 15, 2020 – First Day to file an application for a place on the ballot
Feb. 14, 2020 – Deadline to file an application for place on the ballot
November 3, 2020 – Election Day

Items To Consider Before Running the School Board
School Board Basics
Upcoming Board Meeting Dates - See "Meeting Dates" Tab at Top of Page
Required Board Training
MISD Graduation Date - May 29, 2020

Powers and Duties


Board Members Elections

Legal Reporting Campaign Funds


Conflict of Interest Disclosures

Prohibited Practices


Evelyn Carter
Administrative Asst. to the Superintendent
310 E Market St.
Mabank, TX 75147

2020-2021 School Board Meeting Dates
July 27, 2020
August 24, 2020
September 28, 2020
October 26, 2020
November 16, 2020
December – no meeting
January 25, 2021
February 22, 2021
March 22, 2021
April 26, 2021
May 24, 2021
June 28, 2021

Dates subject to change.
Call Evelyn Carter to confirm 903-880-1302.